2016 A Year in Review

As a thank you to myself and to ensure that 2017 gets off to the running start 2016 did I gave myself the opportunity to take a couple of weeks off during the Christmas and New Year period to enjoy quality family time and completely switch off from my world of Valued Care Solutions.

As a result this blog post on ‘2016 A Year in Review’ is being written on my official return to working 03/01/2017 – “better late than never” as the saying goes.

So what can I say about 2016 for Valued Care Solutions and myself well the first thing I can say is a huge “THANK YOU”

THANK YOU to all my clients who have trusted me to support them in their own businesses to start out in the business world, to grow their quality service provisions and to review their services in a manner that not only meets regulations and requirements but also looks at the impact on the individual receiving the service – THANK YOU ALL! here’s to an amazing 2017 together.

THANK YOU also has to go to my amazing wife and children, without them VCS would not be possible. They give me the strength, support and positivity, alongside the laughter and smiles to always make me see that what I and VCS do, adds real value to all across the health and social care sector – THANK YOU I am truly blessed and you are amazing 🙂

So to the ‘2016 A Year in Review’ in detail. I could go on and on with different elements that where achieved over last year however that may run into a very long post that not everyone would want to read so I will keep it brief and pick out my Top 3 achievements of 2016 in a ‘Tops of the Pops’ style – you can hear the music in the background now can’t you 🙂

A New Entry at Number 3 – Challenging a CQC report on a client’s home that was totally factually incorrect and made the home drop into ‘Requires Improvement’. After working with the home for a number of months previous to the CQC regulation visit I knew that the home, although not perfect, was of a very good standard and met all the standard requirements set out by the CQC. So it was with some distress that I was contacted by the homes owner who told me they had been given ‘Requires Improvement’ and had breached in one area. After reading the report it was clear that the information contained in the report was not accurate and indeed the information discussed was not directly relating to any resident that the home supported. Long story short I was able to work with the home to clearly set out reasons for challenging the report on grounds of inaccuracy which where upheld and changed by CQC prior to being in the public domain whereby the home was given a Green ‘GOOD’ overall rating – Excellent achievement all round!

A Non-Mover at Number 2 – My continued support of the Alzheimer’s Society Dementia Friends initiative across the country. I am a designated Dementia Friends Champion and as a result I was able to deliver as a volunteer to 35 new people the Dementia Friends sessions that have made them part of our Dementia Friends community – One of my favourite achievements of 2016

2017 – I am looking to continue this volunteer service throughout the year so any people or businesses reading this post and interested in having a session (its free of charge, only takes an hour, hour and half max – maybe just throw in some refreshments for people) then please get in touch I would love to deliver the session for you and make as many Dementia Friends as we can 🙂

And straight in at Number 1 – My 2 nominations for FSB Merseyside and Cheshire Awards for Valued Care Solutions. VCS was shortlisted for 2 awards on the night however although no winning accolade was forthcoming this is, in the 5 years of business, my 1st nomination for an award in business and as a result in recognition of VCS – This is my most proudest of achievements in 2016

So to 2017 may it hold the same positivity and achievements to rival 2016 and lets make it even better!!!

I wish you all the very best for the year ahead. I hope it fulfils all your widest expectations and for those who may hit a bump in the road, I send you the support, strength and guidance to overcome any challenge that steps in your way.

Let’s do this people. Thank you for reading and remember “With hope and belief there are no limitations” – Till next time, Stephen

Published by

stephenbriscoe2013

A now 40 year old father to 2 husband to 1 who owns his own health and social care consultancy business. I have over time understood the importance to live in the here and now and hope through my posts to deliver new information, spark discussions or just make someone smile :-)

Leave a Reply

